How can we improve OneNote for Windows?

Group objects and anchor ink to text and images

Select objects (Handwritings, pictures or text) and group them using right mouse click menu to move objects easily! This also prevents unexpected shifting and enables working with multiple layers.

1,505 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Chiu Kit Lam shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

309 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

> 1500 votes, 4 years later and no reaction from Microsoft ?

Very, very annoying

• John C. Weisenfeld commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I'm a teacher using OneNote in my classes. I take a worksheet, print it to OneNote and then ask my students to click to type on the worksheet and "fill" it out. Since their text isn't anchored, they can type something above something else and all their text below can move. Super frustrating.

Enabling anchoring would enable more teachers to use OneNote like the virtual paper it claims to be.

Thanks!

• Andre commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

So Anonymous' note from 17-Sept-2018 isn't all bad news.
        If MS has implemented anchoring/linking of ink/text to images in the new desktop version of OneNote, then by default this will be resolved.
        If you haven't seen the news, OneNote 2016 is going to be the last version bundled with Office. After this, OneNote will only exist as the Windows 10 desktop application.
        My understanding of the Microsoft announcement is that they are consolidating the primary features of OneNote 2016 and merging it with the new functions in OneNote desktop app, including anchoring.