How can we improve OneNote for iPad & iPhone?

Being able to convert handwritten text on iPad OneNote to text

Being able to convert handwritten text on iPad OneNote to text. It seems to be available on PC tablet/hybrid version, why not iPad? Would be even better now with apple pencil of course!

554 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Robin shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

23 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Adam McCash commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I'm an instructional designer at a VERY large university (+68k students) where we have recently started giving all new students iPads and Apple Pencils. Students' inability to convert their handwriting to text for studying and working on assignments is one important reason we recommend students pay for Notability instead of using OneNote, despite the fact that students automatically get OneNote with the rest of Office upon enrollment.

• Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

This does seem like a logical step, it seems unusual to have ink to shape, which is rarely useful but not ink to text.

This is a must have function if you really want to use it in a business context!

• Chris commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I want to complement the inquiry by asking for the convertion of handwritten notes to formula, like it is possible on windows based operating systems.

I echo Joy's concern. Even I'm looking for exactly the same and it seems, this would be the reason to look for other apps.

• Joy commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate