How can we improve the OneNote APIs and developer platform? Vote for an existing idea or share a new one.

Markdown Support for OneNote (desktop and web)

I know there's already an Idea posted for this topic however the original poster of the idea hasn't provided feedback as to what exactly they meant. so here goes:

It's simply the ability to use Markdown in OneNote pages, Currently I use the tool to take all of my work notes, and as a Developer I need to add code blocks, code lines and other formatting into my notes,. It would be great if Markdown was added to OneNote just like in GitHub wikis or Stackoverflow for example as I would hate moving away from using it!

1,535 votes
Vote
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    Jawad shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

19 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Please please please support markdown on all platforms! This is the biggest missing feature in OneNote!

OneNote needs Markdown, Outline, and Tag system. I’m changing to Typora and IA Writer.

• Thabile Vatsha commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Really Microsoft?? OneNote easily in the top 5 best products ever to come out from Redmond and you really can't implement simple code blocks for us with Markdown. Please save us! I'm tired of having to stick in screenshots in my notes

• AnthonyU commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate